Weird 101

My copy of The New Weird anthology arrived in the mail yesterday, and I have to say I’m mighty impressed. What the editors Jeff and Ann Vandermeer have done is put together not only a great sampling of authors (such Barker, Mieville, Moorcock, Ford, Harrison and many others) but they have also assembled this hefty book as a dialogue on the very topic of the new weird genre. There are essays, histories. There’s even a reproduction of the original internet thread that coined the term “New Weird.” This book’s a primer, a debate, an analysis and a darn good read for those interested in mature speculative genre.

nw_bookpg2.png

The New Weird – at it’s weirdest.

2 Responses to “Weird 101”

  1. Hey man, I read China Mieville on the cover and now I can’t wait to get home and bust out the credit card. It’s great to find someone who loves the Spec Fic genre. Is it the basis for your novel as well? And would you mind if I add you to my blogroll?

  2. Welcome Ruzkin, form the down-under. I’d be pleased to be added to any and all blogrolls, especially if that means that folks in other time zones will be reading while I am up rocking the baby back to sleep . . .

Leave a Reply

