I’ve just blown my first deadline! Now I’m a REAL writer!

So February 15th has come and gone and the first round of editorial revisions on Powerless are still not done. Granted, my editor Joan is terrifically understanding person and therefore the Feb. 15th date was always sort of a soft deadline, but still it’s kind of frustrating.

I’ve decided that books are like babies – you expect them to conform to tidy little schedules and work around the important things in your life, but they have an uncanny tendency to surprise you with all-nighters and painful growth spurts.

Baby Will has decided that sleep is for the weak, and Powerless has somehow grown by nearly two thousand words in the editing process, even though I’ve cut two chapters nearly in half.

I love them both dearly, but . . . c’mon! If anyone knows any great nannies who do freelance copy-editing on the side, send them my way.

2 Responses to “I’ve just blown my first deadline! Now I’m a REAL writer!”

  1. “If anyone knows any great nannies who do freelance copy-editing on the side, send them my way.”

    I am such a person, but I don’t believe we’re in the same state (or time zone…) and, alas, I will have my own nonconformist deadline and kids. How about some creative comisery?

    P.S. Love the onesie and the headgear. Reminds me of “Munchkin”!

  2. Commiserate away! Misery loves company.

Leave a Reply

