My Recent Reads – The Fiction Edition

In the midst of all this chaotic business, I’m always glad when I find time to do some reading.  And because lists are fun and easy, here’s one:

MY RECENT READS (fiction):

Thirsty by M.T. Anderson – Dark, funny young adult vampire story done right.  Did I mention it was dark?

Soon I Will Be Invincible by Austin Grossman – I’ve been holding off on reading this until Powerless was off to the presses.  It was well worth the wait.  Human nuances and complex relationships painted with bold, primary colors.  My kind of stuff.

Starman Omnibus Vol. One by James Robinson and Tony Harris – I’d always heard good things about this comic, and now with the hardcover omnibus I can see for myself.  So far, so very good.  Waiting for Vol. Two.

Steampunk Anthology, edited by Ann and Jeff Vandermeer – Another kick-ass anthology from Florida’s speculative power couple.  I can’t wait for their anthology of pet fiction.

Holes by Louis Sachar – I read this for a course I’m teaching and I was very glad that I did.  Folklore, tall-tales and yellow-spotted lizards.

The Return of Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle – That Holmes thinks he is so smart.

The Hound of the Baskervilles by Arthur Conan Doyle – Shoot.  That Holmes really is so smart.

Have you read any of these?  Do you want me to spoil the ending?

One Response to “My Recent Reads – The Fiction Edition”

  1. I read Soon I Will Be Invincible and loved it!

Leave a Reply

