What’s the coolest thing you’re doing this summer?

I attended exactly 3/4 of a summer camp when I was a kid.

The first was a soccer camp that my best friend was attending.  Granted, he was two years older than me and he’d been playing little league soccer for years but I thought I had the skills to compete with the big boys (Note: I spray-painted my soccer ball silver and pretended it was the Death Star, so you see where my skills really lie).  I lasted a day and a half.

Next was Cub Scouts Camp.  Now this time I was really excited – Cub Scouts!  Wilderness!  Hiking! Camping!  While a poor sportsman I was a pretty darn good outdoorsman, I loved scrambling around in the woods, building forts and catching snakes (catch-and-release only, I promise.)  I looked forward to Scouts Camp all summer long – two weeks in a national park exploring, adventuring.  Maybe I’d learn to whittle.  I’d always wanted to whittle.

But the first day of camp arrived and with it so did the rain.  So we sat in a shed behind a church and painted paper fish to go in our imaginary aquarium.  The next day the sun came out, but the humidity was so bad that the den mothers decided to cancel the scheduled hike and spend an extra hour on arts and crafts.  On the third day . . . well, I really have no idea what they did on the third day because I wasn’t there.  I quit.

So if you add up my total summer camp attendance it makes just under a week.  Roughly 3/4 of a single, short summer camp.

But I will go out on a limb and say that my spotty camp record is because I never had a camp as cool as this:  This summer I’ll be a part of Symphony Space’s Thalia Kids’ Book Club Camp!  What a great time this is going to be!  Follow the link and take a peek at the line-up of activities they have planned and I bet you’ll wish you were a kid again.  As a matter of fact, I may see if I can snag an extra-large camp tee shirt and disguise myself as Matty the Giant Twelve-Year Old, just so that I can hang out with Brian Selznick!

And that is by far the coolest thing I’m doing this summer!

Leave a Reply

