It’s official – THE DEAD GENTLEMAN arrives in summer 2011!

The New Book is dead!  Long live THE DEAD GENTLEMAN!

The title has been settled and our creepy, lovely dark horse has galloped past the finish line.  I must admit, I’m a bit surprised at the enthusiastic response from the publishing powers-that-be. I’d feared that the title would be considered too dark for children’s literature, and in fact had a different (safer, more boring) working title all along.  But it just goes to show that editors and designers are really smart people. Far smarter than your average writer.

So what’s the book about, you ask?  Well, since we are still a year away from publication, I can’t spill too much.  But I will say that this book is epic adventure, in the vein of Jules Verne and Arthur Conan Doyle. It’s as dark and exciting and mysterious as the title, and I had a lot of fun writing it.  It was also a LOT of work, but it was worth it.  I’m very proud of the finished product.

Oh, and there might be an airship or two.

And just wait till you see about the cover!

Advertisements

3 Responses to “It’s official – THE DEAD GENTLEMAN arrives in summer 2011!”

  1. Congratulations, Matthew!! I’m thrilled for you! I would (*will*) pick up a book with that title in a heartbeat.

  2. Not quite ANNA AND THE FRENCH KISS, but I guess they’re aimed at slightly different audiences, eh?

    Still, I for one can find room on my bookshelf for dark and creepy steampunk AND European romance!

  3. […] Matthew Cody announced the title for his brilliant new middle grade novel — stay tuned for THE DEAD GENTLEMAN, coming to stores near you in Summer 2011! […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: