Writing in Graveyards . . .

Yesterday I spent the day with the young readers and writers of the Thalia Kids Book Club Camp, hosted here in NYC by Symphony Space. This is a TERRIFIC camp, where the kids get to spend their days with professional authors and illustrators, while working on their own creative writing skills in the process.

And if they are spending the day with me, they will end up in a graveyard.

This was my second visit to the camp, having taken the a group of campers on a tour of the Random House offices back when Powerless came out. So I was thrilled when they asked me back to talk about The Dead Gentleman. We spent the morning at Symphony Space, then I dragged them out to Trinity Cemetery, where I told them to write something mind-blowingly terrific or I’d be leaving them behind . . . bwa-ha-ha!

Truth be told, we found a lot of inspiration among those old stones, and I witnessed some really imaginative writing going on, threats notwithstanding. Here are a few pics from the day, but check out the Thalia Camp’s Blog for more:

Talking about steampunk!

 

A poor camper made to suffer through my writing lesson.

 

The campers and I pose with some of the graveyard's residents

Comments are closed.

